Spradley sworn in as member of the Eastern Oklahoma State College Board of Regents


WILBURTON, OK (June 9, 2020) – Larry Spradley of Howe was recently appointed to serve a seven-year term as a new member of the Eastern Oklahoma State College Board of Regents. He was sworn in at the Board’s June meeting by Oklahoma Associate District Judge Bill Welch.

“Some of the many reasons for Larry’s career success is his knowledge and ability to think strategically about finances, as well as his commitment to the communities he serves,” said Eastern President Dr. Stephen E. Smith. “The Community State Bank has been a remarkable partner for Eastern since opening their branch location in Wilburton. I am delighted that he will bring his breadth of expertise and leadership skills to Eastern’s Board of Regents.”

Spradley has served as president and chief executive officer of The Community State Bank since 1990. He also serves as the vice chairman of The Community State Bank’s Board of Directors. His direct responsibilities include the comprehensive performance of the Bank, direct supervision of senior officers that manage lending, operations, human resources and financials.

A lifelong banking professional, Spradley began his career as a loan officer with City National Bank in Fort Smith, Arkansas. He spent 17 years in various positions with different banks as he learned distinct areas of the banking industry and moved into leadership roles. Spradley earned a bachelor’s degree in management and history from the University of Central Arkansas in 1973.

The membership of the Eastern Board of Regents is made up of seven people appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. Senator Mark Allen of Spiro carried Gov. Kevin Stitt’s nomination of Spradley to the Senate Education Committee for confirmation.

Spradley replaces Ruth Harkins of McAlester who completed her term this year.

Other regents include Chair Bobby Mouser of Stigler, Vice Chair Teresa Jackson of Hartshorne, Cara Bland of McAlester, Latt Jeffrey of Wilburton, Brian Lott of McAlester, and Loise Washington of McAlester.

Back to News Listing