Eastern Oklahoma State College

Sapphire Ball 

It was a difficult decision to cancel the 2020 Sapphire Ball, but our main concern was everyone's health and safety. At the time, we had hoped to proceed with a traditional event in 2021. However, as we continue with the COVID-19 pandemic, we have made the difficult decision to host a scaled-down event for the honorees and a limited number of their invited guests to comply with social distancing requirements. There will be no public tickets available for the April 24, 2021 event.

Although we are disappointed, our work continues for Eastern's deserving students. The 2019 Sapphire Ball raised more than $31,000 for student scholarships which is outstanding! Unfortunately, this year's modified event will likely result in a reduced number of sponsorships and donations. We believe with your help, we can lessen the impact of COVID-19 on our mission to support students in their dream of earning a college degree.

Four Ways You Can Support Eastern Students

  1. Donate Your Ticket: You can choose to donate the cost of your previously purchased ticket to benefit the Sapphire Scholarship Fund. Or let us know and we can offer you a refund on your ticket purchase. 
  2. Make a Donation: You can make a donation in any amount at sapphire.eosc.edu. Any amount will help make a difference in a student's life!
  3. Participate in the Online Auction: Since we can't gather in person, we're moving our auction online! Visit the EOSC Facebook page and click on the "Sapphire Ball Online Auction" event pinned to the top of the page. Then click on "Discussion" to view all of the items available. Bidding closes at 11:59 p.m. on April 24, 2021. You can see what's up for grabs and place your bids from the comfort of your own home!
  4. Watch the 2021 Sapphire Ball Livestream: The show must go on! Eastern will livestream the event so you can still join in the celebration of our deserving honorees. Watch the livestream on Mountaineer TV beginning at approximately 7:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 24.

Thank you for your continued support of Eastern Oklahoma State College students during this challenging time. Your generosity helps make a college degree a reality for students in southeast Oklahoma!

Sponsorship Opportunities

An event sponsorship is an opportunity for you, your company or organization to show your commitment to the students of southeast Oklahoma. One hundred percent of the proceeds from the Sapphire Ball directly support students through Eastern’s Sapphire Scholarship Fund. There are several sponsorship level opportunities available and we welcome the opportunity to visit with you about how you can make an investment in Eastern students. A portion of your sponsorship is tax deductible to the extent allowed by the Internal Revenue Service. Thank you in advance for your support.

2021 Sapphire Ball Sponsors

Thank you to our generous sponsors for this year's event!

Sapphire Sponsors - $2,500.00
EOSC Development Foundation
Diamond Sponsors - $1,500.00
Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma Sam Wampler's Freedom Ford
Roy's Pharmacy The Community State Bank McAlester Regional Health Center
Emerald Sponsors - $650.00
CCAF Companies of Talihina, OK Great Western Dining
Ruby Sponsors - $250.00
All Seasons Travel First Family Credit Union Pro-Kil Pest Control
BancFirst First Realty of McAlester Rana Family Medical
Hillary Campagne, CPA PLLC Hale Law of Wilburton Dr. Janet & Gary Wansick

About the Sapphire Ball

Eastern established the Sapphire Ball in 2010 to raise funds for student scholarships, as well as honor the college’s alumni, faculty, staff and community supporters. The Sapphire Ball is an elegant, black-tie event, featuring delicious food and fun entertainment, as well as silent and live auctions. During the evening, Eastern will honor individuals and an organization that have been instrumental to the success of the college. The 2021 Sapphire Ball honorees include:

  • Distinguished Alumnus: Mrs. Stephenie Ingram, nurse practitioner

  • Distinguished Alumnus: Ms. Kerri Jones, pharmacist

  • President's Community Spirit Award: Sam Wampler's Freedom Ford of McAlester

  • President’s Excellence in Teaching Award: Mrs. Heather Spiegel, Nursing Professor

  • J.C. Hunt Award for Staff Excellence: Mrs. Marci O'Donley, Executive Assistant to the President and Administrative Assistant to the EOSC Board of Regents

Nominate an Eastern Alumnus

Download and complete the Distinguished Alumnus Award Nomination form. Return the form and all supporting documents to:

Eastern Oklahoma State College
Alumni Association
1301 W Main
Wilburton, OK 74578


Fax: 918.465.4448

Past Sapphire Ball Honorees

Distinguished Alumnus Award

David Perryman, 2019
Brooklin Matthews Green, 2019
Major General James Chambers, 2018
Gary Reasnor, 2018
Shelley Free, 2017
Bobby Mouser, 2017
Gary Wansick, 2016
Teresa Jackson, 2016
Dr. Bill Brewer, 2015
Dr. Marsha Gore, 2015
Anita Caldwell Jackson, 2014
John Redman, 2014
Rhonda Fields, 2013
Linus Williams, 2013
Dr. Daniel Boatright, 2012
Anita Risner, 2012
David Donoley, 2011
Senator Richard Lerblance, 2011
Ben Curtis, 2010
Dan Denny, 2010

President’s Community Spirit Award

The Community State Bank, 2019
McAlester Regional Health Center, 2018
AT&T Oklahoma, 2017
Texas Instruments, Inc., 2016
Arkansas-Oklahoma Railroad (A-OK Railroad), 2015
BP America Production Company, 2014
The Puterbaugh Foundation, 2013
Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, 2012
Representative R.C. Pruett, 2012
Bill Price, 2011
Jason Green, 2011
Joe Coy, 2010

President’s Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Patricia Bolin Ratliff, 2019
Brenda Bohanon Strange, 2018
Cheryl Wood-Myers, 2017
Gina Bullock, 2016
Marilynn Duncan, 2015
Margaret Sorrell, 2014
Dr. Billye K. Givens, 2013
Eddie Woods, 2012
Ruth Brelsford, 2011
Leland Walker, 2010

J.C . Hunt Award

George Larson, 2019
Lea Anne Dickson, 2018
Rhonda Price Quinn, 2017
Julie Lawrence, 2016
Karen Darby, 2015
Trish McBeath, 2014
Gaylon Brannon, 2013
Anne Brooks, 2012
Keith Lewis, 2011
Helen Scott, 2010