Eastern Oklahoma State College

Division of Behavioral & Social Sciences

Behavioral and Social Sciences is one of the most diverse divisions at Eastern relevant to program offerings. The division includes the Psychology and Sociology Department which emphasizes techniques of scientific inquiry and the contribution of psychology and sociology to the well-being of society and its members. The Child Development Department guides students toward a professional career to meet the specific needs of children, youth and families.  History and Political Science Department provides students the opportunity to develop a foundation in history or political science for university transfer. Finally, the Criminal Justice Department tailors programs to the specific career goals of students to include, corrections, law, juvenile delinquency, FBI, criminology, forensics and law enforcement.

Degrees

The Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences, located in Mitchell Hall with offices also in Gunning and Baker Halls, offers associate degrees (AS and AA) that prepare graduates for transfer as juniors into bachelor’s degree programs at other colleges and universities. In addition, this Division has an AS degree program in Criminal Justice which is designed for either transfer or immediate employment in the field. The Division also has degree (AA & AAS) and certificate programs in Child Development.

Contact

Dr. Carter Mattson
Division Dean, History & Political Science Professor
Baker 117
918.465.1774
Fax: 918.465.4484
cmattson@eosc.edu
Dr. Cathy Cogburn
Political Science Professor/Department Chair
Baker 115
918.465.1815
Fax: 918.465.4432
ccogburn@eosc.edu
Bryan Denny
Director COP/Criminal Justice Professor/Department Chair
Mitchell Hall  101C
918.465.1756
Fax: 918.465.4494
bdenny@eosc.edu
Marilynn Duncan
Psychology/Sociology Professor Emeritus
Mitchell 101B
918.465.1809
Fax: 918.465.4458
mduncan@eosc.edu
Paul Wills
Psychology/Sociology Instructor
Mitchell 102B
918.465.1416
Fax: 918.465.4454
pwills@eosc.edu
Mandy Roachell
Admin. Assistant for the Health Sciences and Behavioral & Social Sciences Divisions 
Gunning Hall 107B
918.465.1794
Fax: 918.465.4462
mroachell@eosc.edu
campus
event icon
campus news arrows

Upcoming events


  • guitar
  • runner
  • dept