Accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission

Eastern Oklahoma State College has been officially accredited by The Higher Learning Commission since March 1954.

What is the Higher Learning Commission?

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region, which includes the state of Oklahoma.

HLC has established five Criteria for Accreditation, and evaluates colleges and universities to verify that they are met. The Criteria set forth basic standards in areas including:
  • Mission
  • Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct
  • Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
  • Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
  • Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

Eastern's Assurance Argument Report

The Higher Learning Commission Assurance Argument and evaluation process helped Eastern faculty and staff gain a deeper understanding of our progress and challenges in fulfilling the institution's mission. The goal of the report is to demonstrate, with evidence, that Eastern meets the five Criteria for Accreditation set forth by the Higher Learning Commission. Eastern's 2017 HLC Assurance Argument is available for download (pdf).

HLC Reaffirmation of Accreditation

In 2017, Eastern Oklahoma State College received a 10-year reaffirmation of its accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). An HLC peer review team visited Eastern’s campus February 27-28, 2017 and the Final Report is available for download (pdf). As a result of the successful evaluation, Eastern has been approved to follow the "Open Pathway" model for its next reaffirmation of its accreditation scheduled for 2026-27.

HLC Resources

The HLC Resources page provides links to resources relevant to Eastern's accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission.