Eastern Oklahoma State College

Eastern inducts students into academic honor society

February 06, 2024

2023 Fall PTK Induction – Eastern students granted membership into Phi Theta Kappa posed together following their induction ceremony. Those inducted include (front row, left to right): Taylor Thurman, Dakota Harmon, Letitia Clark, Melissa Wren, Emma Lawson, Claire Lowrimore, Lucas Mahlow, Tiare Hermosilla, (second row) Taylor Norris, Tatum Barrett, Kennedy Edwards, Quincy Mason, Katie Richmond, Jana Stacy, Emma Hutto, Pedro Adarillo Silva, Caitlin Hirst, Geralyn Haney, Jayden Radford, (back row) Jacob Hermsmeyer, Daniel Ballesteros, Baylee Brown, Dawson Hawkins, Kaden Gregory, Maci Mitchell, Chance Lott, Caden Goodson, Dristan Harber.

Thirty-eight academically high-achieving students were recently inducted into the national honor society Phi Theta Kappa during a campus ceremony in Wilburton.

The society was founded in 1918 and is recognized as the official honor society of associate-level institutions and programs. According to their website, Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is two-fold: recognizing and encouraging academic achievement and providing opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership service and fellowship programming.

Eastern’s Theta Pi chapter upholds this mission by sponsoring a number of events and initiatives to serve their campus and community. These efforts include an annual Toys for Tots campaign and Voter Registration Drive. The chapter earned ten consecutive wins in the statewide registration drive prior to 2020.

“We are proud to welcome these new members and honor their success,” said Brenda Strange, chapter advisor and dean of the business division. “These students have proven themselves to be excellent students in the classroom and we love to recognize our best and brightest students whenever we have the opportunity.”

Membership is granted by invitation once certain academic qualifications are met. To qualify, students must have completed 12 to 29 hours of coursework towards an associate degree with a cumulative 3.75 grade point average or more than 30 credit hours with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average.

Induction into Phi Theta Kappa empowers these students with a competitive edge. In addition to becoming eligible for over $37 million in scholarship opportunities, they become part of a network of nearly 3 million fellow scholars. Members also enjoy special benefits and discount offers from the organization’s corporate partners such as GEICO and Bank of America.

Members graduating from Eastern are recognized during commencement ceremonies and have their membership noted on their college transcript.

Those inducted this spring include: Pedro Henrique Silva, Brazil; Daniel Ballesteros, McAlester; Tatum Barrett, Council Hill; Katlynn Blaylock, Stigler; Baylee Brown, Crescent; Jacy Browne, Wilburton; Letitia Clark, Haileyville; Kennedy Edwards, Lindsay; Caden Goodson, Atoka; Kaden Gregory, Hooper; Ashton Grogan, Red Oak; Geralyn Haney, Holdenville; Dristan Harber, Wilburton; Dakota Harmon, McAlester; Dawson Hawkins, Weatherford; Tiare Hermosilla, Chile; Jacob Hermsmeyer, Alderson; Caitlin Hirst, England; Emma Hutto, Georgia; Emma Lawson, Wilburton; Dustin Lott, McAlester; Frances Lowrimore, Stigler; Lucas Mahlow, Brazil; Kaylee Marcum, Lindsay; Quincy Mason, Tulsa; Maci Mitchell, McAlester; Taylor Norris, Texas; Lindsey Pierce, Gore; Jayden Radford, Shawnee; Katie Richmond, Gowen; Jana Stacy, Oktaha; Carmelita Standridge, Bethel; Avery Strange, Blanco; Taylor Thurman, Atoka; Hailey Vela, Flowery Mound; Jessica Wilson, Morris; Emily Worstell, McAlester; Melissa Wren, Nashoba.