Eastern Oklahoma State College

Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society of associate-level institutions and programs. According to the organization’s website, their mission is two-fold: recognizing and encouraging academic achievement and providing opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership service and fellowship programming. Membership is granted by invitation only once certain qualifications are met. To qualify, students must have completed 12 to 29 hours of coursework towards an associate degree with a cumulative 3.75 grade point average or more than 30 credit hours with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average. Induction into Phi Theta Kappa empowers these students with a competitive edge. In addition to becoming eligible for over $37 million in scholarship opportunities, they become part of a network of nearly 3 million fellow scholars. Members also enjoy special benefits and discount offers from the organization’s corporate partners such as GEICO and Bank of America. Members graduating from Eastern are recognized during commencement ceremonies and have their membership noted on their college transcript. In Oklahoma, the following colleges award transfer scholarships in varying amounts from $600 per year to $4000 per year: Oklahoma State University, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, East Central University, St. Gregory's University and Tulsa University.

2023-2024 PTK Officer Team

President – Railey Spears
Vice President – Kinley Bratcher
VP of Leadership – Brett Hoffman
VP of Service – Jordan Jones
VP of Scholarship – Madison Wright
VP of Fellowship/Public Relations – Maggie Cato
VP of Social Media/ESGA Student Representative – Brody Wallis
Secretary – Brooklyn McNac


Brenda Strange
Business Division Dean, CIS Professor/Dept. Chair, PTK Advisor
Mitchell 115B

Kellye Semeski
Instructional Design/CIS Professor
Mitchell 208

Students graduating with Phi Theta Kappa honors lead the processional during Commencement and wear the official PTK stole depicted. Above, Eastern alumni members who graduated with PTK honors pose together including (left to right) Kane Konsure, Kareesa Kennedy, Kent Keeling, Zach Torres, Brenna House and Mykaela Jones.