Eastern Oklahoma State College

Eastern Oklahoma State College Agriculture Division to host 2nd Annual Agricultural Hall of Fame Celebration Nov. 20

November 15, 2021

WILBURTON, Okla. – The Eastern Oklahoma State College Agriculture Division is set to host the 2nd Annual Agricultural Hall of Fame Celebration Nov. 20, 2021.

The celebration will be held at the EOSC Goddard Building on the college’s Wilburton campus. The event will include a barbecue dinner catered by Bad Brad’s Bar-B-Q, silent and live auctions, and a performance by the Bo Phillips Band. Tickets can be purchased for $50 at eosc.edu/AgHOF.

Leland Walker and Duane Jeffrey will each be inducted into the hall of fame this year.

Walker graduated from Panola High School in 1972. He received his associate’s degree from EOSC, his bachelor’s degree in agricultural education from Oklahoma State University and his master’s degree in agronomy from Texas A&M-Commerce.

Walker joined the EOSC faculty in 1984 as the plant and soil science instructor. After four years, he was named the agriculture division chair. He coached 10 collegiate national champion judging teams and was named Teacher of the Year at EOSC 13 times. Likewise, Walker was the first recipient of the EOSC President’s Excellence in Teaching Award.

Jeffrey graduated from Wilburton High School in 1959 and enrolled in EOSC in the fall of 1959. Upon graduating from EOSC, Jeffrey enrolled at OSU where he was a member of the livestock judging team and worked at the OSU beef unit.

Jeffrey worked for the Oklahoma and Kansas Extension services for more than twenty years before joining the Fort Hays State University faculty to coach the livestock judging team and manage the college farm.

In 1988, Jeffrey moved back to Wilburton and joined the EOSC faculty as an agricultural instructor.

"Both of these honorees have and continue to impact so many lives,” said Larriann Livingston, dean of the EOSC Agriculture Division. “Numerous individuals who went through the agricultural program at Eastern can attest to their influence on not only students, but the agricultural industry as a whole."